Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Plumbing, Piping, Water Heating, Wells, Air & Water Filtration and Conditioning > Water Heaters
Reload this Page >

Whirlpool Flamelock water heater, thermocouple replaced and pilot not lighting

Whirlpool Flamelock water heater, thermocouple replaced and pilot not lighting

Old 03-04-08, 08:01 PM
A
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Whirlpool Flamelock water heater, thermocouple replaced and pilot not lighting

I purchased my 60 gallon gas whirlpool flamelock in 2005. I have replaced the thermocouple 3 times and the gas control once. Water heather quit working yesterday so I installed a new thermocouple. When lighting, while holding the red button the pilot stays lit, but once I release the button the pilot is out. Since it is a new thermocouple, could it just be defective? There isn't much more I can replace on the water heater. I have limited knowledge of how a gas water heater works, therefore I am cautious of making repairs on my own. Should I call in a professional?? I should mention that we have been having pretty severe wind the last couple of days, could this have been the reason for the pilot not staying lit?

Old 03-05-08, 02:46 AM
H
Thermocouples can be faulty out of the package.

Another source of the problem could be the gas control valve.

Old 03-07-08, 11:03 PM
A
Had a repairman out today, he said it is the gas control valve. It seems unusual to have so many repairs, since I have owned it for only 3 years?!? The water heater was purchased new from Lowe's. I went their today to get a new gas control and now they no longer carry the one that fits the model that I own. Now it looks like I will be ordering the part and waiting several more days before it even arrives. Is it safe for an amateur to replace a gas control valve??