Gas water heater not getting hot, help!

Old 01-02-09, 04:02 AM
F
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Gas water heater not getting hot, help!

I just recently moved into a new home with a gas hot water heater. I have no knowledge about these heaters as I have always had electric heaters. I looked at the settings and noticed a large dial towards the bottom of the heater that controls the temp. It has letter settings with A being cooler and C being hotter. It was already set on B so I left it there. I showered for about a week with no issues. Then one day I took a shower and the water never got above luke-warm. I had not run any other appliance for over 3 hours that used hot water, so this was not the case. I decided to turn the temp up, but it left the pilot running all the time and would still put out cool water. I noticed that the system turns off if I don't use it for a few hours. This is when it tends to put out only cool water. If I turn on hot water and turn it off, the system comes back on. After about 30 mins I usually get hot water, but this is not acceptable since I wake up at 430 am for work and need hot water. Does anyone have any tips with this sort of unit?

Old 01-02-09, 07:57 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
The odds are that the pilot burner is dirty, causing a soft pilot flame that can blow around and blow out.

If so, the pilot burner would need to be removed, diassembled and cleaned.

It might have a weak thermocouple.

There can be other reasons for pilot outages too.

If you want to DIY --- start by cleaning the pilot burner. A lot of people would replace the thermocouple too, since this is an inexpensive part and could be a problem.

Or you can hire a repair service, which too often prefer to sell you a new tank rather than repair the old one, and charge you for a service call to give you that advice.

Old 01-02-09, 08:48 AM
F