How does an aquastat really work?

Old 12-09-10, 09:08 PM
S
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
How does an aquastat really work?

I have an old Crane cast iron boiler in our 4plex(i'm the owner). The Grundfos pump crapped out and was replaced today. My plumber adjusted the aquastat at 180F on the hi side and 120F on the low. That is a 60F difference but he told me that the pump will still run as long as the units call for heat. Does that mean that the boiler will start its cycle at 120F and shutdown at 180F? Is this a good range or would you rather the range be narrower? I live in Western Canada so it gets alot colder than most parts of the Americas. If I can save a few dollars on the gas bill so that the boiler does not cycle every 10 minutes would be good but could there be problems with that thinking too?

Old 12-10-10, 07:30 AM
Group Moderator
Received 877 Upvotes on 740 Posts
I have no knowledge of boilers, but with that kind of swing the boiler will cycle less, not more.

Old 12-12-10, 10:49 AM
Received 185 Upvotes on 166 Posts
My plumber adjusted the aquastat at 180F on the hi side and 120F on the low. That is a 60F difference but he told me that the pump will still run as long as the units call for heat. Does that mean that the boiler will start its cycle at 120F and shutdown at 180F?