water heater upgrade for new large whirlpool bathtub

Old 10-13-11, 02:30 AM
F
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
water heater upgrade for new large whirlpool bathtub

I'm a mechanical engineer and I specialize in fluid and thermodynamics. I thought I would share my story of how I increased hot water capacity to accomodate a new whirlpool tub.
We recently purchased and installed a 100 gallon whirlpool bathtub in a house we just purchased. The ten year old 40 gallon water heater was woefully inadequate. So I had to decide how to increase the available hot water capacity. Here are the choices I came up with:
* tankless gas fired water heater
* 75 gallon water heater
* add another water heater in series or parallel with existing 40 gal heater

I could purchase a Rheem 8.4 gpm water heater for about $900 and install it myself for another $200-$300. Or I could install a 75 gallon water heater for around $1100.
Incidentally, I thought I would see what water heater contractors recommended. I had a contractor look at my situation and he offered to install the Rheem 8.4 gpm tankless. He would install it for $4000, so he was charging $3000 to install a tankless water heater. This is a job that would take a contractor perhaps four hours. Another contractor insisted that I must have a high efficiency boiler combined with a storage tank, and he wanted $13000. He kept insisting that my solution wouldn't work, until I told him I am a mechanical engineer. He suddenly changed his mind. Two contractors offered to install a 75 gal water heater for $1350 or $2800. At those prices, these plumbers make more than I do, and I spent six years in engineering school to get a master's in mech engr, and I have been practicing for 25 years. All I can say is buyer beware! Get many quotes and spend some time studying, or you might end up paying a contractor $500-$1000 an hour to do a rather simple job.