22 Year Old Water Heater - Leave as is or Maintenance it?

Old 12-16-11, 06:34 AM
D
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question 22 Year Old Water Heater - Leave as is or Maintenance it?

Ok, so I have a 22 year old CraftMaster gas water heater that been running fine since I bought this house 2 years ago. Averaging around $28/mo gas bills in the summer with furnace off. I noticed that the hot water output line had a small leak in it so I tried to fix it by replacing the old flexible pipe and the galvanized di-electric connector that had a flat spot on top of it (found out what this was afterwards). I replaced it with a new brass male to male and a new stainless steel flexible pipe, but it still leaks.

After doing some reading I found out that my inspector when we bought this house was completely wrong about the TPR valve. He said it was the old style to put them on top of the hot water outlet.
Which is true but the way mine is installed it violates code for how it should be done. It currently sits on top of a T-pipe and 8in pipe coming out of the heater, so the internal rod of the TPR valve isn't even sitting inside the tank. Also the drain line from the valve changes diameter and is fed slightly uphill before it slopes back down into the same drain that the washing machine dumps into, 2 more violations.
So what I am getting at is with a water heater being this old and my connections being so locked up is it better to leave it as is with the minimal drip I have now, or try to free the connections and do it properly? Is it possible that the TPR valve side plug could be so rusted shut that it won't break free without bending the frame around it?

I would like to disconnect the whole system and clean it out, but am afraid I won't get connections to seal when reassembling, or have something break completely.

Do I have to worry about corrosion going Galvanized steel-Brass-Stainless Steel-copper?

Front

TPR Valve

TPR Valve Close Up

TPR valve side port