pilot light wont light AO Smith


  #1  
Old 10-09-12, 06:08 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
pilot light wont light AO Smith

Hello all,
I have an AO Smith gas water heater and the pilot light wont light.
GCV 50 200
Build date 10/ 27/ 2009
I followed directions, push gas control nob down in pilot mode, strike the ignitor
4 to 5 times (even tried 10 times rapidly)
The pilot light doesn't light
I have vacuumed the disk underneath
The only thing that changed was they turned off the gas to put a smart meter
on the gas an electric
The water hater ha been on for many years and never aproblem.

Thank for any suggestions and replies
GregL
 
  #2  
Old 10-09-12, 06:25 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 15,993
Received 85 Upvotes on 77 Posts
You probably have air in the line. The company that changed your meters should of purged everything and insured all appliances were re-lit.

I would either call them back or you may need to hold the pilot button for quite awhile.


Now there could be another issue, but I am basing this on your post that air in the gas line is the issue.
 
  #3  
Old 10-09-12, 06:37 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thank you for the reply, i have held the button down for a long while. My furnace and stove are working fine.

Thanks again for the reply

GregL
 
  #4  
Old 10-09-12, 06:40 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 15,993
Received 85 Upvotes on 77 Posts
When you click the igniter do you see a little spark when you look in the window? You may need to get down low to see it. Turn off the lights in the room to see better.

Let us know.
 
  #5  
Old 10-09-12, 06:43 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yes I see the spark sorry forgot to say that.

GregL
 
  #6  
Old 10-09-12, 06:59 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 15,993
Received 85 Upvotes on 77 Posts
Hold the pilot button down longer. May take minutes... The heater may be last on the line.

Did you check to make sure the gas valve is on that's going to the heater?
 
  #7  
Old 10-09-12, 07:17 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thank you soo much, that did the trick, cant wait to take a hot shower now.

Is there a way to open up that chamber to clean it real good with out messing everything up?

Again big thanks

I spoke too soon, it went out, I was able to light it again. Could there still be air in the line?
 
  #8  
Old 10-10-12, 07:53 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 15,993
Received 85 Upvotes on 77 Posts
I spoke too soon, it went out, I was able to light it again. Could there still be air in the line?

Could be. Let us know....................


 
  #9  
Old 10-11-12, 12:10 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
So far its still going, I would think if its air it should be gone now.
 
  #10  
Old 10-11-12, 12:33 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 15,993
Received 85 Upvotes on 77 Posts
So far its still going, I would think if its air it should be gone now.

Yep!!! good job.......................


 
  #11  
Old 10-12-12, 07:44 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I couldnt figure it out without your advise, thank you so much.
 
  #12  
Old 10-15-12, 10:17 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Well, it went out again this morning. Ive had to relight it 4 times now. I did notice the flame looks waivey, not a strong flame. Could this be gas pressure or dirty burner?
Also the flame looks blue then really orange.
Thanks for your help

GregL
 
  #13  
Old 10-15-12, 10:37 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 15,993
Received 85 Upvotes on 77 Posts
All I can say is its under warranty. Let an AO smith rep repair it. You would only be charged labor.

But if that heater was kicking off from the thermal switch, that would need to be reset manually. So it does not make sense. ( Its on the front but the viewing window. Has two wires and a button in the middle)

The thermal switches are not self resetting anymore as far as I know.
 
  #14  
Old 10-15-12, 10:58 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Hello again, its not the thermal switch, I even checked continuity across it and its good. We used those in our printing press driers we used to build. I looked at the flame and it seems waivy, I was wondering if maybe the gas pressure might be slightly lower after they added the smart meter.
Id rather not pay someone (duke energy wants $50 bucks to come out). Our company told us we aren't employees any more Oct 1st we are contractors and there is no work for the last 3 weeks, so I guess I'm trying to do this myself.

Thanks again

GregL

Ok it heated the tank and pilot staying lit, thats a good thing, not sure how long, keepin fingers crossed.
 

Last edited by GregL; 10-15-12 at 11:13 AM.
  #15  
Old 10-15-12, 12:37 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 15,993
Received 85 Upvotes on 77 Posts
Put in your zip code here.

It will be no charge if you call your local rep. The heater is under warranty. 6 yr parts. You just pay labor. But it will be no fee to come out.


Find a Service Provider > A. O. Smith Water Heaters
 
  #16  
Old 10-15-12, 01:27 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I'll do that, thanks again you've been very helpfull

GregL
 
  #17  
Old 10-15-12, 01:32 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 15,993
Received 85 Upvotes on 77 Posts
Let us know how you make out. Sometimes you need to call AO smith first and get a Auth..#. Then call the contractor.

When we did it we called AO smith for the homeowner and took care of everything.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: