water coming up the top of the water heater - help!

Old 06-08-13, 01:07 PM
T
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Exclamation water coming up the top of the water heater - help!

i'm a total novice, so please forgive my ignorance if this is a no-brainer. any advice would be appreciated; here's the situation:

this morning, my wife informed me that the pilot light in the water heater (it is a rheem brand) must have gone out. i went down to start it, and discovered a leak that seemed to be coming from somewhere above the cold water inlet (nipple?). i noticed right away that there was no water shooting under pressure, and that water was dripping down the side near the pilot light. because of this, i figured that this somehow put out the pilot light. since i replaced the flexible pipe on the hot side not long ago, and there seemed to be water at least that high, i went ahead and changed the flexible pipe coming down from the shut-off valve, and also the little 2-or-so-inch joint between the flexible pipe and the shut-off valve. it's a good thing that i did this, because that little joint was severely corroded inside to the point where i was sure this was probably the problem, but froom what happened next, maybe not.

when i turned the water on, the stuff i replaced seemed ok, but then i noticed water slowly coming up from base of both nipples, incoming (cold) and outgoing (hot) - but all the water is cold, which makes sense because it's been off quite a while. according to this diagram of a gas hot water heater:

there is a "water line" that is clearly shown, which shows a level below the top of the tank. if this is the case, then what is pushing the water up?