Burner Will Not Stay Lit

Old 12-30-13, 05:44 AM
T
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Burner Will Not Stay Lit

I have a Whirlpool Craftmaster water heater that's just over six years old. I have gone through three thermocouples within the past year. I recently replaced it with a different brand about two weeks ago and it has worked fine ever since. I also ordered a new OEM gasket for the service door because mine was deteriorated to almost nothing. I installed the new gasket two days ago and ever since then I can't keep my water heater lit. It's easy to get the pilot light lit but when the burner ignites it only stays on for about 10-15 minutes and then it completely goes out. I am fairly handy(thanks to the internet) but I am at a loss. My next move is to buy a new gas valve but before I spend that money I wanted to get some opinions on the matter. Thanks!

Here is the info sticker and control valve setup: Flickr: tdelong08's Photostream

Old 12-30-13, 06:22 AM
Super Moderator
Received 85 Upvotes on 77 Posts
How much is a gas valve? A new heater is about $350... I only install AO smith... but the GE you have seems to be cutting out from some FVIR technology..Those gas valves are rocket proof and rarely fail.

• Its either starving for air and an internal sensor is tripping..( Can you light it immeadiatly after or have to wait for it to cool down?)
  • Is the flame yellow and whispery before it shuts down?
  • Other cause of overtemp is a clogged vent. Birds nect..etc...
  • The air intake is clogged is the common cause.

Yes it could be the gas valve but at 7 yrs IDK.. Thats a borderline call on if to repair or replace since its out of warranty....

Old 12-30-13, 09:45 AM
Received 192 Upvotes on 172 Posts
I have a Whirlpool Craftmaster water heater that's just over six years old. I have gone through three thermocouples within the past year.
Replace it. You are extremely lucky to have gotten it to last 6 years. No sense wasting further dollars on junk.