Power Vent Keeps running


  #1  
Old 02-11-14, 11:10 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Power Vent Keeps running

Hello,

So my Hot Water Power Vent has been running non-stop for weeks. I've read several forums and tested the switch by blowing/sucking on the tube and hearing the clicking. I've tried resetting the switch and turning it off and on again with no luck.

It's an Apollo Hyrdoheat Model #A650NRVTL2Z.

The tank is doing great and producing Hot Water and no other issues. So I'm not sure what to do next. Hate to buy a new power vent when that may not be the issue. I'm pretty handy when pointed in the right direction.

Thank you
 
  #2  
Old 02-11-14, 06:11 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,883
Received 188 Upvotes on 168 Posts
Hopefully Lawrosa will be along tonight or tomorrow. I'm sure he can help you with your problem.
 
  #3  
Old 02-11-14, 07:03 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 15,993
Received 85 Upvotes on 77 Posts
Hello and welcome..............

So the vent is running constantly? But also the heater is working normally?

That is odd... I have never seen that before. Usually the run constantly on a lockout and failure of the gas valve...


I assume this has an intellivent control? (gas valve)

Can you post the model # of the unit?
 
  #4  
Old 02-12-14, 06:58 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,883
Received 188 Upvotes on 168 Posts
Hi Mike. The OP had stated he has an Apollo unit, but that's one I never heard of.

It's an Apollo Hyrdoheat Model #A650NRVTL2Z.
 
  #5  
Old 02-24-14, 09:01 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Sorry, was expecting an email to tell me I had a response but I noticed I didn't subscribe.

Yes, the fan is always running and the heat is working. From time to time I flip the switch to turn the fan off to give it some rest. My house has hot water heat and the Apollo is the brand that almost all the other homes have in the area but mine seems to be the only one with this very strange issue. I had to rewire the plug at the top of the water heater earlier because there seemed to be a short so I took the existing wires and wired in a new plug.
 
  #6  
Old 03-27-14, 12:08 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
What's next?

So I pulled the pressure switch off and ensured it was working and everything seems to be functioning. It is opening and closing correctly. I also replaced the air hose to ensure no damage with no luck. I found the manual here, http://www.hotwater.com/lit/im/res_gas/184326-001.pdf except for the fact that this shows an electronic gas thermostat and mine is manual.

Any thoughts?
 
  #7  
Old 03-27-14, 01:41 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 15,993
Received 85 Upvotes on 77 Posts
Does your gas valve have a green light on the side...???
 
  #8  
Old 03-27-14, 01:55 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
No green lilght

There is an amber light that is illuminated showing a warning but it's never illuminated.
 
  #9  
Old 03-27-14, 02:05 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,935
Received 4,141 Upvotes on 3,719 Posts
Apollo = State now ? Can't find any info on that model number.
 
  #10  
Old 03-27-14, 06:00 PM
G
Member
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hamilton County, Ohio
Posts: 3,927
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
How did you test the pressure switch? Did you put an ohm meter across the terminals to verify a make / break ?
 
  #11  
Old 03-28-14, 04:35 AM
Y
Member
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 161
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Can you try to plug the power vent to a different outlet, (e.g., using an extension cord)? I'm wondering if the hot and neutral wires were reversed when you rewired the plug.
 

Last edited by yahoo2003; 03-28-14 at 04:54 AM.
  #12  
Old 03-28-14, 06:51 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Goldstar - I didn't test with an ohm meter but watched it function with power on and off. The switch acted as it should. What exactly would I be looking for with the ohm meter?

yahoo2003 - Great idea, unfortunately I already tried that and it didn't work. Love that thought though.
 
  #13  
Old 03-28-14, 09:11 AM
Y
Member
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 161
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Since you have tried everything above, I'm afraid something is wrong with the controller.

From the manual:

"4. The burner heats the water to the desired thermostat
setting.
a) The resistance in the thermostat rises to the value
selected by the temperature control knob.
b) The control module close s the gas valve and 5
seconds later, removes power from the blower.
5. Cycle is completed."

The gas valve closed but blower did not stop, the relay on the controller board may be bad.

If you have access to the controller board, you may check the voltage on coil of the relay to see if goes to 0V.
 
  #14  
Old 03-28-14, 10:00 AM
Y
Member
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 161
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
From the wring diagram, there is a "high air temperature switch" in the blower, that switch might be stuck. You may try to disconnect that switch.

It seems the blower is on either by 120V from controller relay or 120V from high air temperature switch.
 

Last edited by yahoo2003; 03-28-14 at 10:22 AM.
  #15  
Old 03-28-14, 10:21 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thank you yahoo2003, does it make much difference if my thermostat is manually controlled and not digitally like the manual I found lists? Just can't seem to find my exact model out there.
 
  #16  
Old 03-28-14, 11:22 AM
Y
Member
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 161
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
If either the blower relay in controller or the "high air temperature switch" in blower is stuck, nothing else can turn the blower off, the thermostat or other sensors will have nothing to do with the blower.

If you look the wiring diagram, there are 2 wires from controller to blower, one from blower relay, another is 120V for the "high air temperature switch", you need to find out which is 120V for "high air temperature switch", e.g., by measure voltage of each.

Make sure the power vent is plugged in a Ground Fault Circuit Interrupter (GFCI) outlet and be very careful to make measurements, as warned on the water heater plates.
 
  #17  
Old 03-31-14, 11:26 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Sounds like it's above my pay grade. Time for a professional. Thank you so much for your help!
 
  #18  
Old 04-02-14, 05:57 PM
Y
Member
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 161
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
If it's too expensive to hire someone to fix the power vent issue, you may consider to plug the water heater into a timer such as:

TORK Plug In Digital Timer - Plug-In & Wall Switch Timers - 30C512|455D - Grainger Industrial Supply

and you can program the timer to let the water heater only run limited hours per day.
 
  #19  
Old 04-03-14, 01:50 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Great idea Yahoo2003! I can set it to run every other hour and it will cut the running time in half.
 
  #20  
Old 04-04-14, 01:22 PM
Y
Member
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 161
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
That's only an idea. You need to make sure the timer can drive the motor. I would program the timer to be off during night if none uses hot water and during the day if everyone goes to work or school.

In my case, the Power Vent hot water heater only turns on about twice a day (it's noisy so I know when it's on).
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: