AO Smith..Anode rod..I have another HWH leaker!!!

Old 06-04-14, 05:55 PM
Super Moderator
Received 85 Upvotes on 77 Posts
AO Smith..Anode rod..I have another HWH leaker!!!

Well this one made it 4 yrs 1 month and 21 days....( After hours so need to get to Ferguson tomorrow)

I dont know what to try next... Possibly an electric anode? I know I am the plumber but my PH is adjusted.. It must be the softener adding conductivity to the water...

Wife gave little one a bath and said " WE HAVE NO HOT WATER"!!!!!

Here is what I found as I always do before the 6 yr mark..

Name:  0604142020-00.jpg
Views: 1902
Size:  27.3 KB

Leaking from the vent/flue weld at the top as they all do.

You may see the water bubbling up..

Name:  0604142021-00.jpg
Views: 1819
Size:  25.7 KB

Flushed twice a yr but that's not my issues...

I have been doing a buy one , get one free under warranty for 12 years now...This is my 3rd water heater. Once I get the new one it will be 4 in 12 yrs..

( Not a good record huh??? )

Last edited by lawrosa; 06-05-14 at 08:23 AM. Reason: Added to header for better search criteria...
Old 06-04-14, 05:57 PM
Super Moderator
Im going to try to pull the anode too so we can all see what it looks like.....( take a pic)

I figure this thread is good under general chats as I am not seeking assistance...LOL

Old 06-04-14, 06:01 PM
Group Moderator
Received 4,155 Upvotes on 3,731 Posts
I've got my 36" Rigid pipe wrench at the ready

Old 06-05-14, 07:16 AM
Super Moderator
Well having an issue with warranty. Seems they want out of pocket for new heater until approved by AO smith. I called AO smith and they said take a pic of the leak and e mail it to us...LOL

So I did. Now I wait for return call for reference #. The ref # is supposed to guarantee payment. So I need to show Ferguson that. But Ferguson policy's may have changed too..

We will see.

Old 06-05-14, 08:13 AM
Super Moderator
Guess I need another course of action here,,