Water heater woes, thermostat gone bad?


  #1  
Old 06-27-14, 09:50 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 70
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Water heater woes, thermostat gone bad?

I have a water heater that has stopped producing hot water. I have tested both 240v 4500w elements and they show 13ohms across each.

I've checked the fuses, they're both good.

My question is, what would be the next trouble shooting step to take? The water is completely cold (well room temperature) so I'm assuming it's the top thermostat that has gone? (If it was the bottom one the top one would still run right?)

So my questions are...

1. Is there anyway I can test the top thermostat to see if it's working?

2. How can I test to see if the actual water heater is getting power with a multimeter?

[ATTACH=CONFIG]33844[/ATTACH]

Here is the circuit diagram.

Thanks!

(Oh, additional info, this happened 1 day after our water was shut off, I did pull the fuses out of the fusebox to make sure there was no issues with the water drawing out of it. I don't see how this could have done anything and it did produce hot water after the water was turned back on).
 
Attached Images  
  #2  
Old 06-28-14, 11:23 AM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,265
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Can you jump the thermostat?
 
  #3  
Old 06-28-14, 02:49 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,993
Received 4,154 Upvotes on 3,730 Posts
Have you tried pushing the red reset button in ?

If you measure 240vac at L1 and L3 and not at T2 and L4 then the thermostat is bad.
 
  #4  
Old 06-28-14, 10:04 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 70
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Fuse holder in the wrong way round. I'm an idiot. Didn't know you could put them in the wrong way round.
 
  #5  
Old 06-28-14, 10:08 PM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,265
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
LOL That's funny. At least the problem is solved.
 
  #6  
Old 06-28-14, 10:10 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,993
Received 4,154 Upvotes on 3,730 Posts
The pull out is usually labeled OFF on one end and ON on the other end. Which ever word is up is its status. This is done so you can disconnect the load and safe off the panel by putting the handle in with OFF up.
 
  #7  
Old 06-28-14, 11:14 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 70
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yes, I learned this 5 seconds before solving the problem.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: