Emergency options - water heater just died in middle of winter storm


  #1  
Old 01-23-16, 04:19 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Emergency options - water heater just died in middle of winter storm

Hey Guys,

I just got up this morning and found that the water heater is no longer working correctly. I have a Whirlpool water heater with the Energy Smart controller and it is showing the code that the temperature sensors have failed. Right now we are in the middle of the big winter storm in the northeast so there is no possibility that I can get anywhere to get replacement parts. Is there anything that I can do to possibly get the heating elements to heat up even though the temperature sensors are bad? As of right now they are calling for 36" of snow today so its very possible that we wont be able to get out for several days.

Thanks in advance!

Ryan
 
  #2  
Old 01-23-16, 04:50 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 36,607
Upvotes: 0
Received 11 Upvotes on 10 Posts
Welcome to the forums! Not sure of the model number, but if it has two "doors" on the side, you can remove the top door and possibly reset the temperature control. It would be the only thing that you can do without replacement parts. There is a pushbutton on the controller that may have tripped. Push it and see if you hear water starting to get hot.
 
  #3  
Old 01-23-16, 04:54 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the reply. I tried the reset that is on the Energy Smart (located on the top of the heater) but it just goes back to the sensor failure code. Is that the reset you are talking about or is there also a place in that top door that I should be looking at?
 
  #4  
Old 01-23-16, 05:42 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 36,607
Upvotes: 0
Received 11 Upvotes on 10 Posts
I don't know. You haven't posted the model number.
 
  #5  
Old 01-23-16, 06:18 AM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 4,807
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I'm not an expert on water heaters, I can help get you started.
The upper thermostat will be behind a door and look like below:

Name:  uppertherm.JPG
Views: 159
Size:  23.4 KB

Try to reset it.
Do you have a multimeter to check voltage across these terminals?

WARNING. The terminals are exposed live 240V.
 

Last edited by Handyone; 01-23-16 at 06:23 AM. Reason: Live Power
  #6  
Old 01-23-16, 09:08 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,928
Received 4,139 Upvotes on 3,717 Posts
You are describing an electric and a gas heater.

We need the model number posted on the side of the tank.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: