Water heater safety check

Old 03-30-20, 07:04 AM
M
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Water heater safety check

Hello all,

I tried replying to this thread:
https://www.doityourself.com/forum/w...r-lockout.html

But it seems I cannot as it now appears to be locked, despite having a post in the past 30 days (if I understand correctly).

We are having trouble with this same heater. We actually had the valve go out in January with the four-blinks-of-doom, and had a repair person take several hours to repair and replace it with a new one from Lowe's.

It was quite the hassle, and wouldn't you know it, it went out AGAIN last night with the same four-blinks-of-doom, but only this time DURING A PANDEMIC. :P We live in Michigan where there is currently a state-wide lockdown, so you could say that my morning has been interesting in trying to figure out a remedy.

Anyways, I wanted to see if I understood this secret reset process correctly before attempting it as I am a total newb with such matters and would prefer not to blow up the house accidentally:

1) Turn off unit.
2) Turn off gas.
3) Wait 2-3 minutes (3 minutes just to be safe).
4) Turn on unit
5) Turn the knob from VAC to VERY HOT and then back to VAC
6) Do the above 9 more times, for a total of 10.
7) If clicking/igniting sound is heard, turn on gas.

Do I have this understood correctly? Any pointers/suggestions would be greatly appreciated. As you could imagine, being forced to sit through a stay-at-home order without any hot water is about as appealing as the thought of having someone visit your home during a pandemic.

Thank you for any assistance you can provide.

Sponsored Links
Old 03-30-20, 07:33 AM
M
The other frustrating aspect here is that the model for the controller is very scarce with online searches. We are using a WV6242B1114 controller and I have yet to see it in any of the videos or resources online. Attached are some pictures of this bad boy.

Old 03-30-20, 10:12 AM
Group Moderator