anode rod

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-27-20, 04:38 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 256
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
anode rod

My 2007 Locnvar 40 ga doesnt show where the anode rod is...but I saw inside last year I looked into the unit via the element hole ..it looked to be under the
vent ,blow off...totally bogus that they didnt diagram it on the unit.... has anyone removed the blow off before..??
its dead center on my unit....can I rig up one of those multi piece stick type anodes under that plug..??
trying to clean the whole unit up to get a few more years out of it... it looked good when I saw the insides before...shiny but tons of calcite chips.... I suspect they act as anodes also with the magnesium that is in them... to some degree..

 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-27-20, 06:18 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,139
Received 55 Votes on 48 Posts
Anodes are off the top..

https://www.lochinvar.com/lit/100263...ual%202015.pdf

Im using electronic anodes now.. Much better.. I use these, but personal preference... Your mileage may vary

https://www.corroprotec.com/powered-anode-rod/
 
  #3  
Old 06-27-20, 06:56 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,102
Received 840 Votes on 787 Posts
Powered anode...... very interesting. This would be my concern too.

I will just have to trust that itís actually protecting my tank, as there is no way for me to know, other than the green light says it is.
 
  #4  
Old 06-28-20, 04:11 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,945
Received 48 Votes on 38 Posts
Mile, I switched to the powered style about a year and a half ago and will NEVER go back. We're on well water and I had the absolute worst time with rotten egg smell, noticeable when taking a shower. Could not get rid of it no matter what I did. Jury is out on protection, of course, but even if the tank life is shortened, it was worth it to me to have no smell. Mine has a pilot light on the power unit, so at least I know it's getting power.
 
  #5  
Old 06-28-20, 10:12 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,139
Received 55 Votes on 48 Posts
Yes I filtered my whole home in the garage... removing the chlorine and ammonia they add to the water here in myrtle.. Catalytic carbon.. With that said I started getting a smell from hot water side... sulfur rotten eggs.. AO smith uses aluminum anodes.. I removed it and put powered in... smell gone in 2 hours...

Ill never go back...

I was meaning to do this on my heater up north as they only lasted 5 years.. well and softened water there...

They work... I impressed
 
  #6  
Old 07-03-20, 09:53 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 256
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
100-200$..??? ridiculous.... why wouldnt I buy a BRAND NEW tank.???????
Stupid prices.... I will make my own..
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: