May go tankless, can I remove the current recirc pump?


  #1  
Old 07-20-20, 09:43 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 86
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
May go tankless, can I remove the current recirc pump?

We may go with a tankless set up as our current WH is leaking. If we do go tankless, can I simply not use/remove the currently installed recirc pump?
 

Top Answer

 
07-21-20, 03:25 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
lawrosa
lawrosa is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 15,993
Received 85 Upvotes on 77 Posts
Install a navian unit with recirc option. Its the A series.The units have a built in pump and a recirc line built into the unit. Eliminate your pump and run that line right to the navian..

Thats all we install when it comes to tankless. Those units are superior over the rannai.

https://www.navieninc.com/series/npe-a

*** Make sure you gas line can support the new BTU rating of the tankless. Your looking at 199K btu for the 240A series.

 
  #2  
Old 07-20-20, 10:15 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,935
Received 4,140 Upvotes on 3,718 Posts
If you went tankless..... you'd have the same problem with waiting for hot water if you didn't use a circulator. In my opinion a circulator on a tankless water heater is not a good idea as the heater will be constantly cycling.
 
  #3  
Old 07-20-20, 02:51 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 86
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks PJ. I've been looking at both, just trying to figure out what's best for us. Wife says the wait is ok if she has hot water for as long as she needs.

If we do go tankless and not use the recirc pump, can I just not hook up the one we have and shut that valve off going to it?
 
  #4  
Old 07-20-20, 08:23 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,935
Received 4,140 Upvotes on 3,718 Posts
The recirc loop is added in from the farthest hot water location to the water heater.
It would make more sense to disconnect it at both ends and abandon it in place.
 
msu50000 voted this post useful.
  #5  
Old 07-21-20, 03:25 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 15,993
Received 85 Upvotes on 77 Posts
Install a navian unit with recirc option. Its the A series.The units have a built in pump and a recirc line built into the unit. Eliminate your pump and run that line right to the navian..

Thats all we install when it comes to tankless. Those units are superior over the rannai.

https://www.navieninc.com/series/npe-a

*** Make sure you gas line can support the new BTU rating of the tankless. Your looking at 199K btu for the 240A series.

 
msu50000, PJmax voted this post useful.
  #6  
Old 07-21-20, 04:20 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 86
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the info guys, as always the information I get on here is fantastic.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: