Rheem rtex 11 in container house question


  #1  
Old 06-11-24, 08:53 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2024
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Rheem rtex 11 in container house question

recently bought a 20ft shipping container, has 110v mini split, and 240v rheem rtex 11 tankless! the container has 100 amp panel. it sits beside my regular home, which i have electric running from my 200 amp, double pole 60 to the container house to a 30amp type plug hookup, not sure of the wire size, but its pretty big. i have ran almost everything in container for 30 minutes and everything works, the front breaker in the 100 amp breaker box gets alil warm, and the wires in the 200 amp gets warm. Is this safe, or should i run dedicated circuit, or have it hardwired
 
  #2  
Old 06-12-24, 05:03 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 28,315
Received 2,309 Upvotes on 2,054 Posts
Since we know very little about your setup it's hard to say for sure. Turn off the 60 amp breaker in your home until you have it inspected by a licensed electrician. The MAJOR issue I see is that you have 60 amps of service going through a 30 amp plug. That calls into question the size of the wiring used in your home to the RV outlet and also from the plug to the container. I'm betting you have wiring sized for 30 amps but are pumping 60 through it. This not only threatens the container but also your home... think electrical fire.
 
  #3  
Old 06-12-24, 03:56 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,928
Received 4,139 Upvotes on 3,717 Posts
That electric tankless water heater requires 46A of power.
That would certainly stress a 30A circuit.
That and a split A/C could make a 100A circuit run warm.
 
  #4  
Old 06-12-24, 07:07 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2024
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I was just curious to if it was able too run safely? i called electric company today, and going to run direct connection so i know its good
 
  #5  
Old 06-13-24, 10:27 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,928
Received 4,139 Upvotes on 3,717 Posts
Yes.... you can run both at the same time.
Both should be connected to a 100A supply. (panel)
60A is too small.
 
  #6  
Old 06-14-24, 08:59 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2024
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
So when i have it hooked up directly, with my 100 amp panel, i should be good? it has mini split, tankless, mini fridge, microwave, tv..
 
  #7  
Old 06-14-24, 03:23 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Jun 2024
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
" i called electric company today, and going to run direct connection so i know its good "

This is the right answer in this situation. Good call.

RJ
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: