Any one heard of Technetic Plus Softener

Old 02-12-05, 03:38 PM
B
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question Any one heard of Technetic Plus Softener - Newbie Questions

I had an sales person in my house last night selling a "Technetic Plus" water softener by R&M Motor Company based out of Lindon Utah. http://www.rmmanufacturing.com/.

The sales guy was "willing" come take off $1000 bucks to come up with a "generous" offer of $2,995 for a softener and RO unit installed.

Does anyone have any experience with this type of softener? Based on their website, does anyone have an opinion on if it's worth that kind of money?

I'm very new to this. He made a pretty convincing presentation about our chlorine level and tested our hardness level to be about a 16.

Also, I was surprised that there is not any stickies in this forum with some sort of a FAQ or extremely useful threads that us beginners could read. Does anyone have any suggestions of threads that I can read to start getting my foot in the door?

Thanks!

Last edited by Boomschtick; 02-12-05 at 03:43 PM. Reason: more info
Old 02-12-05, 07:18 PM
Moli
Visiting Guest
My first tip would be don't let the guy trying to sell you water treatment equipment test your water, since their labs are so sensitive they have an uncanny ability to find hardness, arsenic, mercury, raw sewage, distemper and ebola in your water where sometimes they might not exist. Not that I'm suggesting they have a scam going or anything...

Does all this include labor? Assuming this is for a typical residence, I'd guess you can purchase a high quality softener and an R.O. filter closer to the $1000 range than the $3000 range. For $2000 saved, I bet you could learn to install it youself.