need water softener advice

Old 01-19-07, 10:02 PM
L
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
need water softener advice

hello,

i am going to be moving to a house with hard water (the water company's report says it ranges from 21-24 grains per gallon). i am completely new to the world of water softeners.

i have done a lot of research and found that culligan was one of the brands to be highly regarded (and had a dealer in my city). long story short, i have been completely turned off by the pushy sales tactics - i haven't even moved yet and already have heard too much from them.

in my research, it seems that fleck for the most part is considered to be a good brand, and there were good things to say about ohio pure water co. (online). my question is this - in getting together a few people with some basic plumbing knowledge and armed with explicit directions from the dealer, is it reasonable to expect that the water softener can be installed without professional help? if it's a bit much to ask, are there contractors out there that will install an already purchased system and know what they're doing? the fleck system seemed to me to be the best deal, it's just the concern of the install.

hope this question makes sense.

thanks!
-l

Old 01-20-07, 09:22 AM
J
This is my weekend project

I recently purchased a water softener online.. Took 3 days to deliver and everything appears to be good quality (Would be happy to recommend them, but do not want to give the appearence of advertising.. PM if you would like...) Regardless I paid $600 vs the $2400 Culligan wanted, and the $1800 the well driller wanted...

I have basic plumbing skills and dont think there is going to be anything overwhelming... The model I got has a stainless steel bypass which is directly mounted to the softener.. Really looks like all I have to do is attach two 1 inch male nipples to the bypass, then sweat the pipe into he mainline....