Bad sulfur smell in a one person house

Old 07-26-07, 06:00 AM
H
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Bad sulfur smell in a one person house

Hello - I'm a newbie here. I posted a few days ago and was wondering if anyone had an opinion on a a one person system to remove the sulfur smell from well water. The system we have for the house works but it still is leaving slight reddish staining. I was hoping for something less expensive than the $2500 system (plus the cost of a big blue filter). What is effective and where can we order to install ourselves?

We have two buildings supplied by one well. The first is a one bedroom barn apartment that my husband and I lived in for eight years - that water goes through a string filter (the small whole house ones) and the through a Kenmore softner. The barn apartment water stinks of sulphur. The new tenant can't stand it. I guess we either got used to it or it's gotten worse with the lack of rain.

We (no kids just two people) eventually built the house and moved in 9 months ago. The house has a large whole house string filter and then the aeration tank and a backwashing filter. The water smells and tastes fine although we are getting light red rings in the toilets and my grout in the shower is lightly red especially where the water stands. That system was expensive, installed professionally and only seems to solve part of the problem. The company suggests we install the same system in the one person apartment ($2500) but I'm leary because how do we know it will work?

Our well water test done 8 years ago:
ph - 7
Iron - 2.7
Maganses - .17
Hardness - 4

The water sample taken today from unfiltered water:
pH - 6.9
Iron - .5
Hardness - 4