Where to get water testing kit?

Old 04-13-08, 11:28 AM
D
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Where to get water testing kit?

Hi, newbie here.

My wife got tricked into letting a salesman from General Ionics come into the house for a "water inspection" the other day. He ran all these tests showing us all the "stuff" that is in our water (city water system). I didn't buy anything from him but it did raise some interesting thoughts in my mind. I knew we had moderately hard water but never thought much about the other stuff like chlorine.

I figured we'd probably get a softener at some point, just have not got around to it yet.

Our water hardness is about 7 gpg, I don't think we have any iron issues.

I want to test the water again myself - where can I get some quality tests that would be sufficient? I have a Lowes and Home Depot close and there are some pool supply stores near as well. Can I get quality tests there or do I need to order them somewhere or have some pros come out?

I guess I'd just like to get a reading on the basics right now - hardness, chlorine, maybe iron and ph

Thanks for any info
--Dusty

Old 04-13-08, 12:06 PM
J
Dusty,

Since you are on municipal water the water authority can supply you a copy of the EPA mandated water tests. There are mandated water quality standards that water systems must meet and they are required to do routine testing to assure they do. Thing is, those test indicate the water conditions at the water treatment facility and are nor necessarily accurate at your kitchen sink.

Testing for hardness, iron, manganese, PH, TDS, and chlorine should be adequate on city water.

There are no quality tests available at Lowe's or the HD, only simple test strips that are wider latitude indicators.

If you really want to know then get a water test from an independent lab. You can find them in the phone book or go to http://www.epa.gov/safewater/labs/index.html