Kinetico 2020c regenerating forever

Old 05-19-08, 07:42 AM
K
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Kinetico 2020c regenerating forever

Hi everyone

I'm a newbie to this forum... also I'm from the UK...sorry!

Anyways, I have just bought a brand new 2020c and had it fitted by my plumber. It seems to work fine except that when it regenerates, the water keeps going through for hours & hours till I turn off the mains supply and turn it back on again. Then it was fine till the next regen when it did the same thing.

Can anyone tell me if my plumber may have made a mistake (as he had never seen a kinetico before!!! I know!) or whether it is my unit?

TIA...

edit: Oh, BTW, the plumber has performed a simple install - no double check valves in or out and no by-pass. There is only one valve and that is the on the main incoming pipe.

Last edited by knightrider; 05-19-08 at 09:44 AM. Reason: more info
Old 05-19-08, 01:42 PM
A
I have never heard of the situation that you are describing whereby the draining stops only when you shut off the water and everything is OK when the water resumes.

Is it a used peice of equipment? Why didn't the dealer install it? Maybe call a dealer and have them check it out for you. I know the 2020c is a common unit in the UK. It will work great for you once you solve this problem.

I will ask a service tech in what would cause this unusual problem.

Andy Christensen, CWS-II

Old 05-19-08, 02:42 PM
K
Many Thanks for your reply AndyC

The dealer sold it to me on a supply only basis.

I was originally going to DIY install it. But then a plumber friend said he would do it for me as a favour because I've been too busy with work & studies (scholarship in IT...final year).

Anyway, I sopke to a techie at Kinetico UK and he said get the dealer to look at it and that they should then call Kinetico if they cannot resolve it.