Water softener Maintenance

Old 08-15-08, 07:34 AM
S
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Water softener Maintenance

First off, I'm new to the water softener game so bare with me.
Recently our softener stopped working. I went out and bought a new Kenmore to replace the 12 year old one that was in the house when we bought it. Upon dismantling the old one to get it out of the house, I noticed that the salt at the bottom was like one foot thick of fine, not fully dissolved salt.
My questions are, should I keep the reservoir filled all the time, or should I keep only a certain amount in there so it can all dissolve?
After installing the new softener I read the instructions (Isn't that how everybody dose it) it says you should clean the reservoir tank every 2 to 3 years. How do I do that? I mean, how do get to the bottom of the tank and get the fine salt stuff out? Any advise is appreciated.

Old 08-15-08, 07:43 AM
Group Moderator
Received 247 Upvotes on 199 Posts
You do not need to do anything with the water level; that fills as needed automatically during the recharge cycle. In normal operation you shouldn't get a foot of fine salt in the bottom. Are you sure it wasn't silt/sand? I think that would have been more likely, especially if you are on well water (you didn't say). At any rate, the way I clean mine is to let the salt get as low as possible (instead of refilling when it gets down to 6 inches or so). Then I rinse it with clean water and suck it out with my wet/dry shop vac.

It's also a good to periodically disassemble and clean the nozzle and venturi assembly. Mine gets gunked up from the well water and needs cleaning every couple of months.

Last edited by the_tow_guy; 08-15-08 at 08:07 AM.
Old 08-15-08, 08:06 AM
S
Thanx "towguy", I was talking about the salt level, is it better to keep it full or at a certain level ( for maintenance purposes). How much salt needs to be in the tank for an effective regeneration?