Space Limited Water Softner?


  #1  
Old 11-25-08, 07:53 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: US
Posts: 35
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Space Limited Water Softner?

Hello,

I could use some recommendations on a low height water softner.

Some background info from county water test:

- On well water
- Water hardness 78 mg/l or 4.6 gpg
- Iron .5 mg/l
- Water PH 7.6

The issue is the location of the water softner. The house is on a crawl space, with approximately 40 inches from ground to floor joists at the highest point. Water line goes from the well directly under the house into the crawl space.

Relocating the water line to the garage is not possible. I have not found a suitable place inside the house either for a tall unit.

Considering this limitation, what would be a quality water softner that is not over 40 inches high? Does such a unit even exist?

Does anyone see an alternative method of installing a water softner?

Regards,

Walt
 
  #2  
Old 11-25-08, 08:18 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 1,478
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
The Kinetico models 2020, 2040, and 2025 will all be excellemt for you use. The tallest one is 25". They all will work well withn your water conditions.

The 2020 is a cabinet model, the other two have a separate brine tanks. All are very highly efficiency. I can send you specif details on size and performance if you like.

They are non-electric, so you don't have to worry about rewiring anything. They are twin-tank so they give endless service even during rengeneration. All-in-all, a very good choice.

Andy Christensen, CWS-II

MACH 2040s OD
 
  #3  
Old 11-26-08, 06:10 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: US
Posts: 35
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hi Andy,

Those units sound promising.

What can you tell me about Kinetico?

Are these units proprietary?

Can they be a DIY install or must you go through a contractor?

Any idea on pricing for those units?

Yes, I would be interested in a specs you have. The Kinetico web site does not provide much information. Regeneration time, regen water usage, etc.

Regards,

Walt
 
  #4  
Old 11-26-08, 09:21 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 1,478
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I tried to send you a PM but it looks like selected not tro receive any. I would be happy to send you data, etc., if you can provide alink. Try to PM me, first.
Andy
 
  #5  
Old 11-26-08, 11:15 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: US
Posts: 35
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
That is odd. I have the receive PM box checked.

I'll try and send you one
 
  #6  
Old 11-27-08, 04:59 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: US
Posts: 35
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Andy,

I sent you a PM yesterday. Was it received?

Walt
 
  #7  
Old 11-27-08, 06:23 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 1,478
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Yes, you have to go abck and uncheck a box in your data page, I think.

Andy
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: