Kinetico 30

Old 01-17-09, 02:24 PM
S
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Kinetico 30

hello everyone! It's my 1st post here and i'm new to water softeners, so please bear with me.

Have a Kinetico model 30 that overflowed a few hours ago. I found this board and started doing some research.

1) It is continuously running right now.
2) It isn't plumbed with a bypass or even shutoffs.
3) The drain from the tank isn't going anywhere.....just the elbow out the side....so it's flooding the garage.
4) The other drain(I think) off the top drains into my crawlspace and it is wet under there
5) it looks like the plastic is cracked where the line connects to the brine tank.
6) When I took the float out, a small green magnet fell out and I'm not sure where it goes.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. off to Lowe's for some drain line to get the water outside

Sean

P.S. I have some pics.....can I post them on here?

Old 01-17-09, 03:47 PM
A
Yes, you can post some pix here. How long has it been hooked up? Are you the new owner? It sounds like there are a couple of issues that need to be addressed.

Cracks are never good and leaks are preventable.

Andy Christensen, CWS-II

Old 01-17-09, 04:19 PM
S
Hi Andy,
Thanks for the reply.I bought the house a few years ago. Everything has been fine......just keep an eye on it and add salt as necessary. I have no idea how old the unit is.

I'm from up north and softeners weren't necessary.

I hooked up a drain line to drain the water outside. I will put in a bypass tomorrow assuming I can make my own. And then I'll see if I can buy parts for it on Monday.

Will using the water in the house be affected much? The tank will be 1/2 full or so all the time....where it will drain out. There will be no salt in the unit, so i assume it will just be untreated water.....is that correct?

Sean

I tried to post pics but it says I can't post attachments....not sure how to do it.

Old 01-17-09, 05:40 PM
A