Ecowater ESD518 - Brine tank full - hard water - Help please!

Old 02-06-09, 02:46 PM
B
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Ecowater ESD518 - Brine tank full - hard water - Help please!

Hi there - I have been browsing this forum for a little while and have learned a lot about what might be my problem BUT I have no practical knowledge of fixing water softeners and I suspect that a lot of the members may be able to give me guidance.

This water softener is about 8 or 9 years old (based on the age of the house). I've been in the house 3 years and it worked fine for the first 2 years. During the last year the softening has been sporadic. The meter does seem to be working ok - but the water has gotten hard again before the auto recharge happens.

I have cleaned the valve several times. I have run resin treatment thru a few times.

In the last few days I have been trying to get the unit to regenerate - but the brine level in the tank gets higher each time as if no brine is going thru the resin tank. The brine level is up to the overflow pipe. There is no soft water at all now.

Any suggestions on what to do please? Or is this beyond do-it-yourself tinkering?

Thanks

Old 02-06-09, 06:45 PM
Received 3 Upvotes on 3 Posts
MORTON SYSTEM SAVER WATER SOFTENER

This shows how your units works. The unit is not drawing the brine. Look very carefully at the venturi. Sometimes a piece of resin will lodge in it and it's hard to see. Make sure the venturi gasket in correctly placed. Check the drain to insure it's not clogged.

Old 02-07-09, 06:37 AM
B
Thanks - I can see from the instructions that the first problem is that the Venturi assembly gasket is worn - I'll try to get a replacement in today. I'll keep you posted on my progress.

Thx for the help - these are great instructions.

Old 02-07-09, 06:48 PM
B
I replaced the gasket and venturi disk and checked the suction thru the float assembly - all seemed to work fine.