Which one Fleck, Autotrol, or Clack ?

Old 02-07-09, 07:06 PM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Which one Fleck, Autotrol, or Clack ?

I want to get a water softener but I'm on a small budget. I was going to buy the GE model from Home Depot but after reading this forum it sounds like a bad idea.

I read in another post about the Fleck, Autotrol, and Clack. Which one would you guys recomend? Does anyone know of any pros and cons of each system?

I had Rainsoft come out but I just about dropped dead when he said $5900 plus $695 install for their system. He tested my water and said it was a 10 not sure what that means. I will need to have my water tested. I was looking to spend around $500 to $600. I will be installing it myself. I have been doing apartment maintenance for the last 20 years so the install should not be that hard for me. Today I started digging a trench from the back yard spicket to the front of the house where the water main comes in so I will have city water for my yard. I thought about using potasium but its $26 a bag and salt is $4.49 a bag.

I'm sure once I get my water tested I can figure out the size I need. I just don't know the differences between the different water softeners.

Any help would be great.

Thanks everyone
Jim

Old 02-07-09, 09:31 PM
J
So far I think I'll go with the Fleck 5600SXT On Demand 40,000 Grain Water Softener for $529 from discountwatersofteners.com.

I have a test kit for pools. I'm not sure if the test for hard water is correct but I came up with 80ppm so my water is 5.67 GPG. PH was 7.4 and alkalinity was 110ppm.

I did find this info about my city.

http://www.fresno.gov/NR/rdonlyres/C...lityReport.pdf

Thanks
Jim

Old 02-08-09, 07:15 AM
Received 3 Upvotes on 3 Posts