Need Help choosing a water softener

Old 01-17-10, 07:18 PM
M
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Need Help choosing a water softener

I had Kinetico come out earlier this week to perform a water test and they provided me with a couple of quotes. I'm quite new to water softeners and the like, but trying to get my head wrapped around it at least enough to invest in a unit.

I have a 3 full bath house, and I'll quote what I have on the water test below:
Well water
Hardness of 7 gpg
Iron of 0 gpg
Compensated Hardness of 7 gpg
PH of 6.9
TDS of 120ppm

My plumbing is 3/4" CPVC and drain is ~ 15' from where the softener would reside. (off subject, but with a septic, do you see a problem with regen draining to septic tank?)

Household is 7 people (wife and I and five kids), so we are constantly washing clothes and using water. We presently get our drinking water in 5gal bottles and use 14 per month. We are hoping that a new system will also give us great tasting water. Our current well water has a 'grainy' taste, no smells or odors, just not a good taste, hence the need for bottled water. I do have what I think is magnesium sediment that my prefilter mostly catches, but you can still find some in the storage tanks of our toilets. I'm thinking that is where the grainy taste comes from.

If I have the numbers correct in Gary Slussler's calculator, I come up with the following:
Based on the information you entered, 2940 is your Daily Grains of Capacity needed. 23520 is the Total Grains of Capacity you need for approximately once per week regeneration with a 24 hr reserve. 1.5 is the minimum cubic foot size of softener required for your capacity needs.