Kinetico 4040 price

Old 02-07-10, 03:05 AM
H
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Kinetico 4040 price

Hello Guys,
I am a resident of Santa Clara CA. I am in the maket for a water softner in our new home. Our water hardness is 14 gr/gallon with a lot of bitter taste and smell from chlorine. None of my neighbours have any water softners installed in their homes yet. So I relied heavily on this forum for source of information.

Thanks a lot to many of the knowledgeable members of this group like "AndyC" I was able gain good insight of the various products available in the market and their pros and cons.

I am very much inclined to going with Kinetico 4040 with no RO. The local rep (DeAnza's : John Schafer) came in today and gave more details about their system, warranty (10 yrs). I really liked the simplicity in their design which doesn't use electricity, on demand regeneration, twin tank design.

I was quoted $3700 (including tax and installation). He said it was a December special which he is still offering. There was also another offer where he will rent the system with a $485 installation and $45/month. If we chose to buy it in 3 months he could apply the installation and rental charges towards the $3700.

Please let me know if $3700 is a reasonable price for a Kinetico 4040 with no RO or is there room for negotiation?

Thank you very much in advance for your inputs and comments.

Old 02-07-10, 09:48 AM
A
I sent you a PM

Does the 4040 include a by-pass and prefilter?

Did they quote a 2040 by any chance?

What was their "December" special?

Andy

Old 02-07-10, 12:10 PM
H
Andy, Thank you for your quick reply. That was the price I was quoted for 'Kinetico Overdrive Enhanced 4040'.
There was no mention of a by-pass or a pre-filter.
Our home has only city metered water. We do not have a well. Reading through other Kinetico posts, I was under the impression that we need a pre filter if we have well water with high iron content. Is that a true statement?