water filter

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-18-13, 08:34 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Central Indiana
Posts: 924
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
water filter

I have a Omni ro2000 water filt that doesn't fill the holding tank. You can only draw 2 quarts out of it be fore it stops running. I have replaced all the filters and the membrane. Didn't hear water going in drain so I replaced the faucet now you can hear the brine water in drain. When it quits running you can lift the tank and it is empty. I have checked air pressure in the tank with it completely discharged and adjusted it to 10 lbs. Opened up the regulator and didn't see anything obvious. Any ideas?
 
  #2  
Old 12-18-13, 10:08 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 24,427
Received 747 Votes on 686 Posts
What is the water pressure in your house?

It takes a reasonable pressure differential to force water through the RO membrane. If your house water pressure is low there may not be enough as the storage tank fills and it's pressure increases.
 
  #3  
Old 12-18-13, 02:18 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Central Indiana
Posts: 924
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
We have a well. The pressure switch turns off at 40 psi and on at 20psi. I thought about this but the filter has worked on this system for 7 years. The softener seems to recharge as it should????????
 
  #4  
Old 12-18-13, 04:09 PM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 24,427
Received 747 Votes on 686 Posts
The website I looked at recommends a minimum of 40psi. They also recommended 5-7psi in the pressure tank. Another check I read was to not use any RO water for 24 hours. Then look at the discharge waste line. If water is still flowing after 24 hours you may have a bad check valve.
 
  #5  
Old 12-18-13, 06:41 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Central Indiana
Posts: 924
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Thanks for the digging, I didn't find much. I believe it is shutting off but will do the procedure to be sure. I have had the tank press. all over the place,right now it is at 10 lbs which is what the instructions state. Wonder where this check valve is?
 
  #6  
Old 12-18-13, 06:54 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,152
Received 62 Votes on 54 Posts
Read here wrench.. I only use and install the apec systems, but the mechanicals are similar...Let me know what you find And if you need help identifying parts after you read this.........

Tank is not filling on RO-45 or RO-90 : Free Drinking Water | Support
 
  #7  
Old 12-19-13, 06:29 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Central Indiana
Posts: 924
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Thanks for the site lawrosa. I let it set over night and it had shut off. Drained out about 2 quarts and it shut down, Ill play around with it later its off to the dentist today.
 
  #8  
Old 12-19-13, 08:53 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,152
Received 62 Votes on 54 Posts
OK let us know...............
 
  #9  
Old 12-22-13, 09:28 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Central Indiana
Posts: 924
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Checked water flow at various hoses all seem normal. Checked press of well pump 40 lbs. You can drain unit and it will run for about an hour and a half then shut off and you have about two quarts. Probably ignore it till after holidays.
 
  #10  
Old 12-22-13, 09:40 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,152
Received 62 Votes on 54 Posts
I think you may have too much air in the tank or the bladder collapsed and is stuck to the inner wall....

Let all the air out and try to let it fill...

Double check the psi....Posibly there is more then 10 and you filled in error....
 
  #11  
Old 12-23-13, 04:38 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Central Indiana
Posts: 924
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I checked it last night it had shut down. Lifted tank and it had some weight to it. Checked pressure it was 15 lbs.bled it down to 10 lbs and it started up again. Seems to be working better today. So I may have had too much air in it. I seem to have gremlins around here, things will quit working then magicly start up again. Thanks for all your help and may you all have a merry Christmas. Tom
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: