Water filtration improvement

Old 08-19-14, 05:29 PM
T
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Water filtration improvement

Hi,
My name is Piotr(aka Peter) and I'm a trailer mechanic (lol).
I found this great forum couple weeks ago and finally decided to add some questions. I hope I chose right place and didn't do any mess.
So I have some questions and I hope you guys can help me in this post.
First,
I bought my townhouse 3 years ago and when i checked my water report I found out I have about 30 contaminants. So I googled for 2 weeks andbought what I thoughts is right and needed and built water filtration system with my dad in basement. Anyway, we have well water.
10" sediment filter 50mic -> 10"sediment filter 5mic ->
BigBlue 20" 30mic - >Green Carbon(anti-chlorine) - > Softener

I'm hoping that we use clean water without sediment, chlorine and hardness.
I also installed RO system which takes water from the main line after softener.

SO my questions are:
1)Did I install all filters I need?
2)Did I overpaid?
3)Did I buy filters I don't need?
4)What can I improve? What can I change?
5)Plumbing code. Drain lines coming from brine tank and mineral tank should go directly to a round hole in floor behind my furnace or to main "white plumbing line" (I don't know how to call it).
6)How often do you change your filters? RO 1-3 stages, 4-5stages, big blue plated sediment etc...?
7)How do I know if I bought rght softener? There was so many upgrades for my unit that I don't know if I have everything what is needed.
8) My village buliding inspector forced me to make huge changes in my basement before I sell my house. Can I ask questions about basement remodelling here or in different topic?
9)These 2 first 10" sediment filters where my dad's idea. He thought that it will be enough. He bough about 10 filters and I change them every 1-2months only because I have them still for free but I don't think they do much good since they are brown after a week.