Replacing old/leaking acid neutralizer and tank, need input on plumbing connect

Old 11-08-14, 06:38 AM
R
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replacing old/leaking acid neutralizer and tank, need input on plumbing connect

Hi all,

I'm new to acid neutralizers and well water systems but not to plumbing work.

Bought a house a year ago and my acid neutralizer is now leaking. Its so old that I have to just replace the entire unit.

To keep cost down, I'm going with a replacement unit with a Fleck 5600 head (not digital) and a tank where the control head must be removed to add more media.

So,

1. When I was opening the current tank to be drained, even though I'd opened the lower relief valve, the tank was still pressurized. *How do you open a new tank with the control head mounted on top without blowing the control head to the ceiling due to the pressure?

2. As I'm going to be removing the control head roughly once per year, I'll have to undo the plumbing connections - inlet/outlet water lines (the backwash line is simply hose clamp and a disconnection at the barb fitting). These are currently CPVC and I'm thinking of sticking with CPVC but my concern is disconnecting from the control head. Do they make CPVC unions? Can I use a union or similar on each connection to the control head?

Thank you in advance!

-Bob

Sponsored Links
Old 11-08-14, 10:52 AM
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Why not find a media tank with a dome hole plug?
Also a Fleck 2510 would be a better valve for the nuet, one can move pins for each part of the cycle and if the tank or valve needs to be removed for service there is a clamp that holds the valve to the tank adapter... also both the 5600 and 2510 have adapters with clips that hold the valve body to the bypass of ones choice.. thus no need to worry about the plumping to and from the unit.

Old 11-09-14, 05:50 AM
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts