Increase Pipe Feeding softener


  #1  
Old 05-31-15, 11:08 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 20
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Increase Pipe Feeding softener

I have a softener fed via a 3/4" supply from a pressure tank and I still get some rust on my fittings. I was thinking off adding sediment filter post softener. There is a 1" line from well to the tank. The pressure switch is 30-50. I was going to add a sediment filter after the softener. So my though was to increase the pipe size to 1" up through the filter then back down to 3/4". I talked to a guy from the local water district during an open house and he suggested I put the filter (Larger 4" filter so I have more surface area to filter) after the softener (let the softener do most of the filtering) and then you do not have to change it as much as if it would be installed before the softener. He also though it would be OK to increase the supply pipe to the softener. Any Ideas?
 
  #2  
Old 06-01-15, 03:30 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,964
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
You won't be gaining anything by upping the size of pipe since you already have 3/4". I would put the filter pre softener to keep sediment to a minimum to all your stuff. The filter is 3/4" in and 3/4" out so it should be an easy install from the existing 3/4" supply post tank.
 
  #3  
Old 06-01-15, 04:36 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4,879
Received 101 Votes on 88 Posts
I try to add the sediment filter before the softener.
A softener is not meant to be used as a filter.
Old steel plumbing in the house? If so rust will still be an issue.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: