Water Softener Sizing

Old 02-15-16, 06:05 AM
C
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Water Softener Sizing

Hey Folks,

I am new to the softener world and trying to come up to speed pretty quick. I have been doing a lot of reading through the forum, etc... Anyways... We bought the house we're in last year and the water hardness has consistently measured 15gpg. I am preparing to purchase a new softener, most likely a Fleck 5600sxt and just wanted to get some opinions on the correct size for efficiency.

We have the following to go by:
7 people in the house (Hopefully to drop lower in the next year or two as some finish college...)
2 Bathrooms
Hardness - 15gpg
Well Water with sediment filter after well pump
No iron issues
3/4 piping

I was originally thinking about a 5600sxt - 48,000 grain, however, before I purchase, after looking at the calculator I saw here on the forum, I might be better off with the 5600sxt - 64,000.

Can someone give some insight here to what the more efficient size would be to help keep salt purchases to a minimum down the road?

Thanks for any input!

Old 02-15-16, 12:45 PM
Y
I used to assume that the softener capacity listed by manufacturer is "the golden number" that you can use to figure out which softener to buy. However, I learned that it is not the listed capacity but what's important is how much resin media is in the softener.

If you operate softener at listed capacity, your salt consumption will be very high. Read these articles to get better understanding of how to arrive at proper sizing:

Understanding True Water Softener Capacity - Aquatell
How to Properly Size a Water Softener - Aquatell

Hope that helps.

Old 02-15-16, 02:12 PM
C