water in the salt tank

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-15-19, 06:11 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 276
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
water in the salt tank

Hi. I've seen similar questions here, but don't if my current situation is exactly as others.

Kenmore Ultrasoft 200.

I sensed that the water wasn't as "soft" as usual during a shower. Thinking I may be out of salt, I checked the tank. 8 inches of salt covered by two feet of water. The power never went off, but I first thought that the regeneration cycle was interrupted. So I pushed "regen now" and left to go to work.

'Came home last night to find the same amount of water in the tank, though it seems to have recharged, as my shower this morning was back to using "slippery" water.

I had a somewhat similar issue 6-8 years ago, and fixed it by replacing the turbine. Is it time for another one, or am I looking in the wrong direction?

Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 02-16-19, 05:41 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 276
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Quick update: the LCD's are moving when the water is running, so it can't be the turbine.
 
  #3  
Old 02-16-19, 06:19 AM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 10,176
Received 47 Votes on 45 Posts
There are a few ways to check to see if your softener is regenerating.

The best way is to get a hardness test kit and regularly monitor the hardness of the treated water..........twice a week would probably be ok.
If it is not regenerating you will see a rise in the hardness of the water.
Another thing you could try but not may not work with all water types is to boil a cup of softened water and then put in a couple of tea bags.
The tea should make the minerals come out of solution and float to the top of the cup.
When the water is soft there would be less scum floating in the cup.

Another way is to manually add about 6 inches of water to the normal level of the brine tank and when it regenerates you should be back to the normal level.

Also, if you have a softener that has an exposed rotating shaft on the head you could make a paper towel into a tent shape and place it over the shaft.
When the shaft rotates to regenerate the towel should fall off.
 
  #4  
Old 02-18-19, 09:11 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 276
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
'Sorry, Greg. I must have mis-stated my question. I'm concerned with the water in the tank, not the hardness of the water out of my faucets.
 
  #5  
Old 02-19-19, 01:03 PM
Akpsdvan's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Alaska
Posts: 1,957
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Depending on age of the system and the salt used in its life there could be salt build up at the bottom of the tank thus displacing water or the brine pick up tube could not be all the way down to the bottom of the brine well.
 
  #6  
Old 02-20-19, 04:54 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 276
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you. I'll look into it.
 
  #7  
Old 03-01-19, 07:36 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 276
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I think I just created a new problem.

Checked the brine pickup tube, cleaned the nozzle, venturi, and flow plug.

Next, check the drain hose for blockage... Water dripped on the LCD display panel and now I get a blank screen. (Next time, unplug the unit, dummy.)

Any chance this will dry out and come back to life?
 
  #8  
Old 03-01-19, 02:11 PM
Akpsdvan's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Alaska
Posts: 1,957
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Could try the rice trick?

Have tried it on cell phones, could work..

One will not know til one tries and then it is?

I would be looking for a replacement board.

Go to Ebay and see if there is one like yours for sale.
 
  #9  
Old 03-04-19, 10:59 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 276
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
'Wanna hear a good one?

The least expensive board I could find was $150. (eBay)

Considering the age of the softener, and the fact that I've previously put money into it for a different repair, I opted to buy a new water softener.

Brought it home yesterday. Just for the helluvit, I plugged in the old one before starting to unhook it. It works again. I'm still going to replace it - mostly because I'm tired of messing with it, and don't look forward to being nickel & dimed any more.

But, isn't that the way things always seem to go...?
 
  #10  
Old 03-04-19, 04:33 PM
Akpsdvan's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Alaska
Posts: 1,957
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
and another one for the land fill..............
And the wheel goes round and round.....
Cash or Card? don't answer here but in your mind.
Gone are the times where we fixed an item till there was no more fix... now it is the time of it is either a few years old or I am having a challenge so why fix when it can be replaced.
 
  #11  
Old 03-05-19, 05:01 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 276
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
'Kinda quick to judge, aren't we?

This thing was 15 years old already. A new one costs $435. Replacement part for the old one was $150, and I still don't know if my original problem was fixed.
I have no problem with that financial strategy.

And, "cash"...
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: