Ionic(Puronic) IQ Water Softener Issues

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-08-19, 08:54 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Ionic(Puronic) IQ Water Softener Issues

Hi,

I moved into a residential house that has a 10+ yrs old Ionice IQ water softener. Based on the inspection, the unit hasn't been properly maintained for quite some years. I put it to use and got a issue. After the recharge, inside the house, I got salty water and brown water. After flushing it for a few times and/or a minute or so, the water return to "normal". It seems like the unit has 2 issues. The salty water and the brown water. I think the brown water is caused by the carbon with silver media since it is supposed to be professionally serviced by the pro every couple years or so, which the previous owner didn't do. I am not sure the cause of the salty water. I have a few questions.
1. The softener is 10+ year old. Is it still worth it to fix this old unit than get a new one for $600 or so?
2. If it is still okay to use, my understand that the unit has 3 different media. The top media is silver impregnated carbon. The middle is S-579 mineral. The bottom is silica gravel. I don't like the sound of silver in the water even it is designed to be "safe" to use. And I don't want to get professional service every 2 years. Can I rebed and get rid all of the 3 media? Just replace it with 1 media or 2 media like DuraWater C100E Purolite C-100E Cationic Resin ? Or if you have better recommendation, please provide.
3. The salty water I get after recharging. Do you know what causes it and how to fix it?


Thanks,
Peter
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-16-19, 09:28 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Can I rebed and get rid all of the 3 media that came with it? Just replace it with 1 media or 2 media like DuraWater C100E Purolite C-100E Cationic Resin + gravels? Or if you have better recommendation, please provide.
 
  #3  
Old 07-21-19, 08:10 AM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 1
Ionic issues

I have no answers for your questions, however you answered the question of why my water is brown. I recharged my system and I'm hoping it works. Previous owners didn't take care of anything, so I'll probably end up shelling out the money to have them come do maintenance. I keep getting post cards from Puronics telling me it's time to change the filter. What filter? I looked at the manual and I see no filter. I also read comments on an archived thread about this same model and I'm not happy that I am stuck with a system whose company likes to swindle ppl out of $$....
 
  #4  
Old 07-21-19, 10:46 AM
Akpsdvan's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Alaska
Posts: 1,941
Any system reaches a point where the media needs to be changed out with new media.

This goes for the cheep Home Depot - Lowes or on line system to the brand names like Kinetico , Culligan and the like.

Even with the best of maintenance any equipment with need repair or replacement at some point.

No one is stuck with a system as any one can go to the box store or buy on line a system.
 
  #5  
Old 07-30-19, 01:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Akpsdvan,

I understand that the media needs to be changed out. The system seems running good. I am okay with changing to a new media. I can rebed new media (gravel and resin) for less than $100. I am not sure that i can replace with "normal" media that i can buy at Home Depot or Amazon and get rid of Puronic propriety carbon with silver media.

thanks,
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes