Premier "Zerowaste" RO system

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-30-20, 09:10 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 214
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Premier "Zerowaste" RO system

Hi!

I'm interested in purchasing a RO system from Premier that has "Zerowaste" which does not produce any waste water.

My question: "RO unit must be installed a minimum of 25 Pipe feet from water heater"... why is this? Does one hook up the black line to the sink's hot water pipe? Our main floor kitchen sink is about maybe 15 feet above our basement water heater... is this a problem? If this is, is there a work around?
 

Last edited by Howitzer; 01-30-20 at 09:11 PM. Reason: Typo...
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-31-20, 02:44 AM
Marq1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA MI
Posts: 5,871
Received 276 Votes on 257 Posts
Why don't you call the manufactures tech line and get the right answer!
 
Handyman_Shane voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 01-31-20, 04:58 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 22,722
Received 478 Votes on 439 Posts
That system pipes the waste water from the RO system into your home's hot water heater/system. I believe the 25' distance might have something to do with the water pressure rise when the water heater is heating. Contacting the manufacturer would be the best way to get an answer as to why. I doubt they will tell you a "work around" as they created that requirement for a reason.

I know someone who installed a "zero waste" RO system and I don't know the manufacturer. They replaced a traditional RO system and they were not happy. In spite of the spec for how much water it could filter per day they said it was VERY slow to make water. Slower than their previous, traditional RO system. I assume it's production rate is tied directly to your hot water usage. The more hot water you use the more RO water it can filter. Don't use hot water... no filtered water. I'm thinking the RO system cannot work if it can't get rid of it's waste water. If no hot water is being used then the hot water system is at the same pressure as the cold so no waste water can be dumped into the hot water system.
 
  #4  
Old 01-31-20, 12:10 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 214
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Why don't you call the manufactures tech line and get the right answer!
hey Marq1 - I sent them an email yesterday, I'm waiting for a response.
 
  #5  
Old 01-31-20, 12:13 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 214
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Pilot Dane - thanks for responding! I will have to discuss this with the premier rep/tech.
 
  #6  
Old 01-31-20, 02:28 PM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 22,722
Received 478 Votes on 439 Posts
I don't know for certain but that was my guess how they operate.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: