heavy equipment welding

Old 01-01-03, 07:56 PM
H
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
heavy equipment welding

Hey guys! I am a farmer and have done alot of welding over the years, I probably make alot of mistakes with rod selection, techniques, etc...Some welds hold, some dont! lol, but heres the question : whats the best rod to use on heavy equipment, to be exact, Ive broken the thumb loose on the stick of our excavator. I heard somewhere to use 120,000 lbs ts stainless rod with alot of amps, but ive had to remove beads like that before and as you know, a torch wont cut stainless steel. Is this still the best choice, or should I use something better? There Is a chance I may have to remove it later, and thats a lot of grinding!

Sponsored Links
Old 01-02-03, 07:43 PM
scrapiron
Visiting Guest
I knew you were a farmer when you were thinking ahead about the problems you'll have fixing it the next time it breaks. Many times you have to grind out a variety of metals, epoxys, and sealants in an old weld just to get to some good base metal.
Usually, with the exception of stress fractures, most failures are either in the base metal near the weld or where the bead tears away from the base metal and not in the weld itself. Most of my work is on ag and construction stuff and 7018 is my favorite. I feel that grinding out a good vee to allow for proper penetration and fill, along with some auxillary bracing to spread out the load is most essential to a good repair. Don't misunderstand, the very high tensile rods have a place but in my work I haven't seen the need (so far!).
Proper joint preparation and a can of fresh, dry, 7018 rods would be my solution. Let us know what you decide to do.

Old 01-11-03, 10:27 AM
Portable Welder
Visiting Guest
Heavy equipment

I weld on heavy equipment every day, the rod you want to use is 7018. If you use a stainless rod you may have to grind it out just like you said.