cutting copper

Old 04-17-03, 06:04 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question cutting copper

Hey folks. First off let me say that I am an artist/craftsman and not interested in producing anything that has to withstand any kind of pressure (except perhaps a growing plant .) I <i>am</i> interested in learning what is involved in soldering copper for the construction of garden art, including copper trellises and arbors and suchlike. I have seen in my browsing on the web a couple of sites where the artisan has joined the copper pieces <i>without</i> the use of copper fittings, but rather with the use of precise joints and bends. I have a fairly complete woodworking shop, including a bandsaw and a floor drillpress. Is there a metal cutting blade available for a "regular" bandsaw? (I've never really looked) Would that work or is the speed just totally wrong for cutting metal? The only metal I would ever be cutting on it would be copper. Also would anyone know how the technique used to make such joints might differ from "regular" plumbing soldering? Thanks for any help y'all might give.

Sponsored Links
Old 04-17-03, 02:26 PM
NutAndBoltKing
Visiting Guest
My Aunt was a metal artist and partners in a studio on West Broadway in NYC not too far from Washington Square Park.

They made and sold many different functional and craft items fashioned from copper, but were kinda famous for their peened copper kitchen stove hoods and pot racks. Their copper lamp shades sold well.

Whatever wasn't soldered, was riveted - but very many of their items (usually wall art) were assembled with tabs and slots. They would design the pieces so that one end would have a tab and the matching piece would have a slot. The tab would fit into the slot and then be bent over to hold.