welding machine

Old 11-26-03, 02:02 PM
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
welding machine

Hey everybody..

I see a machine, it says "90 amp flux wire welder".. it's $120.

Here's a link.. http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/cta...?CategoryID=10

What could I do with this?
What materials can it weld and how thick?

I'd like to build a small yard trailer, and some other welding projects (such as a tailgate for my regular trailer) and the like.

Also, what's best for cutting? oxy/acet torch?

Sponsored Links
Old 11-26-03, 03:30 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
MIG Box

I have no experience with that machine, but you should be able to weld up to 1/8in with it. But some welders of that type are not up to it, you could be limited to 1/16in. But I have no way of knowing how effective it is. I would consider it range up to about 1/16in or 1/8in in a single pass. I would get a small torch to start cutting with it is very mobile if you get the right one, and there are quite a few other tings you could do with it other than cut metal.

Old 11-26-03, 03:37 PM
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Wow, 1/8" is hardly enough to build anything with and expect it to stay together.

What would I need to weld (and cut) 1/4"-3/8" material together in various joint configurations?

Old 11-26-03, 05:59 PM
Super Moderator
Received 37 Votes on 35 Posts
Pendragon:

Check out this recent thread on the same question.

The general concensus around here is the best way to learn how to weld is with a stick machine that has a reasonable duty cycle.
A 225 amp ac machine would be adequate and an ac/dc machine while a bit more money would be the best.

Check out the link and come on back with more questions.

Old 11-27-03, 08:02 AM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts