Self Taught Welding Help Request

Old 05-01-04, 03:18 PM
Robshobbies
Visiting Guest
Question Self Taught Welding Help Request

Hey eveyone, I am new to welding and would really like to weld. I am only 15 but find my self very handy do alot of wood work soldering ect. but wanna move up to the next level. Because I am 15 I need to teach my self and funds are limited only mby $250-300 to get started. What are some good books to help teach my how to weld and about the equitment and what is a good starter small electric welder I only will be doing like small things like a few toys Thanks..

Sponsored Links
Old 05-01-04, 04:52 PM
M
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The intial response you're probably going to get from most people is to get a wire feed flux core, because they're the cheapest and possibly the quickest.

Truthfully though, you'll learn a lot more about the weld puddle and how to control it by using either an arc welder, tig welder, or acytelene. An arc welder could be had for cheap, Harbor Freight sells them for about $70, but you're only going to be able to run the real thin rods. These are a bit hard to control at first because they tend to wobble.

Tig welders are well out of the $300 price range unless someone here knows something I don't.

A lot of people may disagree with me here, but I think you could benefit from getting a small cheap acetylene setup and learning to weld (not braze) with that. It will really help you learn how to control a puddle well since you feed the puddle manually, and it will teach you about heat distribution, since you're going to have to learn how to not let the metal get too hot or it will warp.