Mig welding problems

Old 07-19-04, 02:36 PM
sandfeet53
Visiting Guest
Post Mig welding problems

My mig welds look like a collection of splatter. High amperage yields popcorn size globules. Low amperage yields tiny littly spatter balls. I have a couple of burn throughs. I'm a rookie mig welder and am committed to learning it. Education is expensive.

Material: steel trunk pan in an old firebird-lap joint

Machine: New Lincoln pro-mig 135
Gas: CO2 Argon mix
Wire: Lincoln L56 .035

I've ground to bright metal but I just can't seem to get a good bead. Anyone run into this before? I'm a rookie with Mig and I'm satisfied the problem is me, not the machine. It feeds wire well. It has good gas flow and a clean tip.

Sponsored Links
Old 07-19-04, 05:37 PM
Super Moderator
Received 37 Votes on 35 Posts
sandfeet53,

A couple of things to check.

1. The most important thing that I think you should change is your wire size.
The proper wire to use would be .023 for thin guage autobody work, maybe .030 but for sure you would have burn through problems with .035 because you will have to turn the heat up higher to melt that wire.

2. Start your initial settings for the gas, wire type and material thickness according to your manual. Practice a bit with those settings and change them slightly to fine tune it.

3.Make sure you have the polarity set correctly for solid core wire.

4. Make sure you are doing your welding indoors. The gas will blow away if there is even the faintest of breeze. Turn the flow rate up a bit if outdoors and try to shield the weld.

5. Make sure your ground connection to the vehicle is good.

5. Read the manual. I'm sure Lincoln has some tips on proper technique.

Old 07-23-04, 07:17 PM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Greg hit most of it on the head, remember, with Mig the power or heat control is the wire feed, the voltage is essentially the arc intensity. For light sheet turn the wire speed down and the voltage up intil you have a nice crisp arc.