Tapping a hole

Old 10-03-04, 01:29 PM
reevesmacon
Visiting Guest
Tapping a hole

I'm looking for some advice on drilling and tapping a hole in cast iron. What materials and equipment do i need? Specific info please. I'm a woodworker, so i have a good drill press. Also sometimes i will need a hole where the DP can't go. Where can i get the tapping equipment at a good price? Would a used set on Ebay be OK, or does this type of tool need to be new? If this is the wrong forum for this type of question, please let me know. Thanks, Chris

Sponsored Links
Old 10-03-04, 02:49 PM
Admin Emeritus
Received 5 Votes on 4 Posts
Hello: Chris

To drill and thread a hole in cast iron or metal of any kind, you will need the proper size drill bit and tap. Of which I am sure you already know. Used taps and dies can be purchased sight unseen, but only if you care to risk it or can be assured somehow the set is not wornout, damaged has lost pieces, etc.

Good priced tap and die sets are based upon individual needs and preferences. Cheap sets are not designed for extensive usages. Buy a quality brand if your intent is to use them often and want quality results.

Quality results and long service life is not often possible with cheap sets. That old saying, "get what you pay" for comes to mind. I have not had good luck using cheap sets personally. I prefer the quality of a good set to get good results and long service life.

Also adviseable to buy a quality drill bit suited for the task. The hole also has to be drilled perfectly straight to obtain quality results.

Since the nature of the question is based on drilling and tapping a hole in cast iron and not specific to the tools used, this topic is okay to have posted the question into.... Thanks. One less question to move...

Check back on your question several more times. Other members posting replies in this forum topic may offer you additional advice, their opinions and or suggestions.