Squaring legs to the frame

Old 11-12-04, 09:40 PM
Chopychop
Visiting Guest
Question Squaring legs to the frame -- now with pics. of welding tables

I am an inexperienced welder. I’m working on my first “serious” project – a welding table - using 1” square tubing, and I have a problem with squaring legs to the top frame. I tried magnet angles and then I tried clamping each leg with two angles to the top frame. Every time I start with tuck welding from all sides and then finish with the final welding. I just can’t get them darn legs square!!! Is there any secret to do this? Any recommendation will be appreciated.
I use Lincoln 110V, 80Amp gasless wire feeder.
Thank you.

Last edited by Chopychop; 11-16-04 at 07:53 AM. Reason: pictures added
Old 11-13-04, 06:14 AM
Super Moderator
Received 68 Upvotes on 62 Posts
Chopychop,

Are you building this table by outlining the shape of the top with square tubing and then butting the legs onto the bottom of the top piece?

What I do for this is to use a square on the surface the top is sitting on and tack each leg as straight as you can with a single spot weld .
Then carefully turn the table right side up and stand it on a level surface.
You can then bend the legs at the single tack to straighten them and while upright, make a couple of tacks to secure the position.
Once secure you can upend it and finish welding.

You have to make a series of short welds on alternating sides of each leg, so as not to unevenly heat the joint and cause it to distort.

A trick:
If after all this a leg is a bit off, I will use an oxyacetylene torch to heat the joint of a misaligned leg to pull it into position.

Old 11-13-04, 12:36 PM
Chopychop
Visiting Guest
Thanks GregH!
--- Are you building this table by outlining the shape of the top with square tubing and then butting the legs onto the bottom of the top piece?

Yes, that's what I'm trying to do.