welding chromemoly tubing?

Old 11-14-04, 05:33 AM
LimaBlu
Visiting Guest
welding chromemoly tubing?

I'm looking into buying a Lincoln Electric Handy Core welder (35-88 amp. output) and I want to build a go-cart whose plans requires 1 1/8" x .083 wall aircraft spec. chromemoly tubing. Can I weld this with the mentionned welder ? In case this influences the answer, I also need to learn to weld! Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Old 11-14-04, 06:47 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm not an expert when it comes to chromoly, someone else may have a better answer. However, most bike frames are either TIG Welded or Braze Welded (Oxy Fuel setup). I'd assume you can MIG weld it to but, you'd need a machine that could do a better job.

That Lincoln Electric Handy Core welder is pretty light duty and according to Lincoln; 70 AMPs the duty cycle is 20%. Duty cycle is the length of time you can weld during a 10 minute period. Therefore 20% means you can weld for 2 min, stop welding for 8 min and then resume welding, and so on.

What type of go-kart is this going to be and does it have to be chromoly?
For example, my neighbor built his 2nd go-cart out of 1" x 1" x 1/8" mild steel using his Lincoln 225 AC Stick welder. He threw on a chainsaw motor and it hits about 30MPH.

Old 11-14-04, 08:11 AM
Wink

If you mean 4130 tube I use Oxy-acetylene all the time on a airframe.

ED

Old 11-14-04, 01:25 PM
LimaBlu
Visiting Guest
The go-cart is going to be a fun off-roader type and 30mph is about the maximum speed I expect. The autors of the plans I'm using (mxk racing) do not recommend the use of mild steel. Since I do not know better, I was planning on using the Chromemoly 4130 as suggested. I guess the issue now is, is Chomemoly really required?