how to pick a welder...some advice for people looking

Closed Thread

Old 11-29-04, 06:14 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Post how to pick a welder...some advice for people looking

i've been reading this forum all night and have gone through every thread. the one thing that keeps popping up is how to pick a welder?? is this one good?? does this one run on gerbils?? do they eat much?? well i am going to write this novel and hopefully help some novices out.

some background on me. i am a professional welder with a well rounded resume. i have worked in repair, manufacturing of various heavy equipment, and layout and fabrication. i have 3 years of vo-tec school and an A.A.S. in welding technology specializing in robotics and heavy plate (D1.1).

welding is making two piece of something join together. we will talk about the hot welding methods as opposed to the cold welding methods (epoxy, JB weld, stuff like that)

(1)
the simplest and least complicated form of welding still being used today is gas welding. this is the process of taking a combustible gas and mixing it with oxygen to produce a very hot flame. you simply melt the two pieces of metal and add filler metal if needed. the most common type of fuel gas is acetylene. other gases such as propane, MAPP gas, hydrogen, etc. can also be used.

pros: portable, non-reliant on electricity, versatile torch attachments can cut, braze, pre and post heat as well as other things.

cons: gas leaks, heat, smells, toxic burning fumes if not set right, explosions if not handled right, gas tanks that can hold up to 2200 psi.