Lincoln 135ST welder vs Plus model

Old 02-01-05, 07:45 PM
kuri77
Visiting Guest
Lincoln 135ST welder vs Plus model

Hi, newbie here ready to buy first welder for home. Mostly to do lightweight stuff on my bikes, motorcycles and trailer, etc. From what I can tell the plus model has infinitely adjustable voltage and the other not. Is that a feature I would be likely to miss as a starter or should I spring for the extra $100 or so and get it? Any other comments, pro or con about either of these welders please do so, thanks, Chris

Sponsored Links
Old 02-02-05, 12:38 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up hey, spend the extra dough

hey, welcome. when it comes to the difference between these two machines, one is definitely better than the other. reasons you should spend the extra money for the plus model IMHO:

infinite voltage control will allow you to dial in the perfect setting for all the different welding you will be doing. thin stuff, thick stuff, you get the idea. having the right heat setting is half of the battle.

tap machines (machines, like the non-plus model, that only allow a couple of settings.) tend to have the taps wear out after time. granted it my take alot of years but it is one more hassle. so one day the B setting might not work. so you have to select A or C, or another way of saying it is too cold or too hot.

the other advantage the plus model has is 100 more inches per minute in the wire feed. it goes up to 400 instead of 300. this also leaves you more options.