Arc welding

Old 02-23-05, 01:28 PM
pan2sa
Visiting Guest
Arc welding

Here's the deal..... Of course I'm a newbie. So be gentle in your retorts.

About 6 months ago I bought an Arc welder on eBay, not knowing anything about them other thatn thinking it was a good deal and wanting to learn how to make some small odds and ends in my garage. Now I have this machine that I will need to run 240vlts from the electrical bow with an adapter to provide power to it, as well as not knowing if I have what will be appropriate for what I want to accomplish. Needless to say, a little help and knowledge will be greatly appreciated.

Here's what I got.... a Speedway Series ARC Welder, specs are: 230 Volts, AC, Single Phase, 45-100 amp, auto temp protector, air cooling, stepless current regulation 40a-100a. (If you do a quick search on Ebay, you'll find it relatively easy). Got the thing shipping and all for $65.

Here's what i want to do...... I'm installing a body lift on my full size Bronco and am going to need to extend the transmission link as well as the transfer case shift arm by cutting and welding in a new piece. Also will need to reallocate the bumpers(move them up) since they will now sit low, will this machine as well as this type of welding provide me with the strength that I need? How strong are the welds from an ARC welder?

Sponsored Links
Old 02-23-05, 05:11 PM
Super Moderator
Received 37 Votes on 35 Posts
pan2sa,

You may be able to weld the shift arm or transfer case linkage with lots and lots of practice.
The bumper, don't go anywhere near it with that machine and especially no experience.
Really, the only type of material that you can effectively weld with that machine would be tin and maybe chairs.

I know, I have almost the exact same machine.
I bought it at a yard sale for $30.00 CDN in new condition.

I have a mig welder and a large ac stick machine and consider myself an intermediate welder.