Practice rod advice ??

Old 03-03-05, 02:52 PM
LimaBlu
Visiting Guest
Practice rod advice ??

Last weekend I spent some time with my older brother who tried to show me how to stick weld on a 220V unit with some old 7018 rods that have perhaps suffered from humidity. He's no professional either This was a humbling experience for me, to say the least.

Now I plan to visit him again over the coming weekend and want to buy some rods. He suggested 7014 or 6013 and there was another one he couldn't remember the number but he's used some speciality rods some time ago that were extremely easy to use and created a blue cord. ??

I'd like advice on what rod to get to practice welding junk metal (approx. 1/8" thick). I want to regain my dignity and have reason to followup with a course.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Old 03-04-05, 07:41 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You may want to consult the welding forum as I'm no professional welder. I do alot of welding in my shop with a 40 year old Forney that I wouldn't trade for anything. I use 6013 rod and can run a bead with the best of 'em.

Old 03-05-05, 12:54 AM
diagnosticmonke
Visiting Guest
TRY THE 1109, I used alot of that before the MIG

Its A Hoot Man, My Welding Instructor Who Passed Away Many Years Ago, Used To Send Me To The Refridgerater For 1109 Rod All The Time.it Wasnt Until Later That I Found Out It Was Actually 6011 Upside Down.

Old 03-05-05, 04:51 AM
Super Moderator
Received 37 Votes on 35 Posts
LimaBlu,

70/anything rods are low hydrogen and do not keep very well.
6013 are likely the easiest to weld with followed by 6011 imo.
Also, I would suggest you try no bigger than 5/32" rods because they take less heat than 1/8" and are less likely to burn through on 1/8" material.

Is this machine you are using a straight ac macine or ac/dc?

Old 03-05-05, 05:13 AM