Help: Ugly MIG Welds on Iron Fence Finnials

Old 04-10-05, 02:24 PM
J
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Help: Ugly MIG Welds on Iron Fence Finnials

Welding wrought iron fence. Have Hobart 140 MIG welding at 115V. Going around finnials, I have to move too fast at voltage settings 3 and 4. At voltage setting 2, doesn't get hot enough.

The best I've been able to I get is an imprecise, somewhat convex glob. It seems wire builds up too fast, but if I slow down wire speed, the machine appears to starve for wire and want to short out. I've decreased voltage, increased it, and tried all kinds of wire speeds.

Looking at neighbor's fence (done by a pro), the welds around finnials are all uniform, precise, slightly concave.

I'm a true beginner to welding. I was hoping that I could find out what I'm doing wrong. It would be nice if welding around these finnials was more like precision drawing than "zipping" a glob across the seem as best you can before you fill it up with too much wire. Wire size is .030 (recommended in the manual), and I'm using CO2/Argon with solid wire.

Any advice would really help.

Sponsored Links
Old 04-10-05, 04:17 PM
Super Moderator
Received 37 Votes on 35 Posts
Jeff,

First, are you welding this indoors with no breeze?
Loosing your shielding gas is one thing that will give you grief.
Do you have the polarity set correctly for what you are doing?

Also, if you have tried all manner of heat/speed combinations, I would say that trying .023 wire would be next.

Old 04-10-05, 06:51 PM
J
My ugly welds

Thanks Greg H for the reply. No breeze problem, and polarity is correct. I can try the smaller wire, but what a pain to have to switch between .030 and smaller wire back and forth. Maybe I can use smaller wire for everything.

Old 04-10-05, 08:38 PM
M