auto welding advice

Old 08-22-05, 05:52 AM
lesron
Visiting Guest
need auto welding advise

I am new to welding and have just purchased a Clarke 115N 230volts arc welder. I need to weld new metal to my car to replace rusted bits.
But I have a safety issue and need your help.
Do I need to disconnect battery or anything else before I start to weld.
Any other tips you can offer would be most appreciated.

Many Thanks
Lesron

Sponsored Links
Old 08-22-05, 07:53 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, the batterry should be disconnected.

Typically you don't use a stick welder for this kind of work. MIG/TIG works much better.

Old 08-22-05, 08:17 AM
lesron
Visiting Guest
thanks

Originally Posted by trinitro
Yes, the batterry should be disconnected.

Typically you don't use a stick welder for this kind of work. MIG/TIG works much better.
thanks for your input ,I bought this welder because it says on the box ideal for auto repairs,

Old 08-22-05, 08:45 AM
Super Moderator
Received 19 Votes on 19 Posts
Lesron,

If you bought this welder for repairing sheet metal it will be extremely difficult for you to do this.
When welding sheet metal you need very precise control and technique to prevent burning through and distorting the metal.
This is why a mig welder is the preferred choice.
If there is a chance of returning this welder then I would suggest you do and replace it with a mig.
If not then you should get some sheet metal that is the same thickness as what you will be welding and practice.
You will have to stitch weld the tin by making a series of short tacks to prevent distortion.

Old 08-22-05, 10:40 AM
jippotrucker
Visiting Guest